Spring Planting

Do any of you garden? I do… at least, I do now.

I am trying really hard to plant a garden this year. I’m doing all kinds of research,planning and tilling, oh my! Let me let you in on a little secret. I HAVE NO F-ING IDEA what I am doing. None. Zilch. Zippo.

I saw these cute little pots at target in their dollar zone. They come with a little tablet like thing that swells and turns into dirt when soaked in water. You are supposed to soak the dirt pellet thingy in water, then pour into the pot. Then you open a LARGE package of seeds and plant 2-3 seeds in each tiny pot… DUDE. These seeds are about the size of the period right here–>. I’m supposed to plant 2 of those? When I ripped open the package about 20 fell in the pot… Freaking 2?

By my reasoning, if 2 is good, then the whole package is better, right? RIGHT? Um… My tiny little pots are all covered in green seedlings.. Like, seriously, the WHOLE tiny little pot. I have about 30 green pepper plants, 40 tomato plants, and don’t even ask me about microscopic strawberry seeds poking up. I’m totally screwed, you guys.

The main point of this post? Mad decided to help me. YEAH. I had a bag of carrot seeds and cucumber seeds on the counter. Also? A ginormous bag of potting soil. (I know what your thinking and you’re right).

All of the sudden, the sound of the running water (from watering the millions of seedlings) gets to me. I had to GO. I had to go RIGHT NOW. I ran to the bathroom and fumbled with the door lock. We have to keep doors locked from the inside and open them with a key – for safety. And because I hate cleaning up the mess Mad makes in the bathroom. (FYI, he ISN’T trained). SO anyway, I managed to unlock the bathroom door, and get in there. Just in time. While smiling the smile of those we have narrowly escaped total embarrasment, I hear a crash.. and giggling. LOTS of giggling. Also? That screechy “eeeeee” he makes when stimming. Hmm… That’s odd, I thought. What could he be doing?I finish my business, and get out of the bathroom. I ran to the kitchen and what did I see? NOTHING. That really isn’t good. Where were my seeds and my dirt?

OH CRAP.

My entire living room looked like a container garden after a twister. Dirt freakin’ everywhere. In the recliner? CHECK. Under the couch? CHECK. In my shoes? CHECK. UGH. Of course, I cleaned it all up and get him situated in front of Scooby Doo (darn the stupid dog).

Then it was time to take an inventory of what I had left. Half a bag of potting soil (that’s enough for now), tiny planters, packet of cucumber seeds… Where are the carrots????Well, long story short, I never did find the carrots. Check back in the fall after I harvest my living room carpet.

I suspect I will have found them then.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizbeth
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 17:14:57

    Ok, I’m laughing WITH you!! Can you take the whole mess put it in a pot and see what comes up?? Would be interesting….Please tell me you don’t have white carpet or anything like that….

    Reply

    • sockmommy
      Apr 11, 2011 @ 09:31:52

      Sage green , room sized (almost) throw rug… Well, it WAS green. :)
      I vacuumed up the dirt in the canister vac and dumped it back into the bag…… Maybe I should be checking the bag?

      Reply

  2. rhemashope
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 18:38:51

    =)
    oy. the price we mamas pay for going to the bathroom! it’s the biggest risk of my day – to dare and relieve myself while the kids run a muck.

    Reply

  3. Flannery
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 13:59:53

    Oh. My. God. I really, really hope you have a good vacuum cleaner. So will you be engaging in this spring planting frenzy next year??

    Reply

    • sockmommy
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 14:48:54

      Fortunately, we ended up buying a Dyson about a year ago. We have broken 7 vacuum cleaners in 4 years…. It was ridiculous. So I think we got most of it up, but there’s no telling :)

      I have no idea what I am doing, so I’m not even technically sure I am doing it this year LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

