Seriously? Green?

Sooo.. I forgot to buy the stupid blue light bulbs..

Yeah. I had to call around to about 10 different hardware stores in my town to find them. So naturally, I panicked. What? You think I over-reacted? PSH.. I had made of thing of it on here, I HAD to have this dumb bulb.

I ran to the store, grabbed one, payed for it (Umm.. 5 dollars for a 25 watt bulb? WTF?), ran home, and began the installation process…

Please imagine this is my home ( I know, I suck. Words won’t describe though):

Notice the Christmas wreath. Yeah, I'm lazy. I'm also short.

You’ll see something unusual about my porch light. First, the claw like protrutions make it darn near impossible to remove OR install a bulb. Second, the bulb I had in there casts a yellowish light. It needed a new bulb anyway, so I got to work. Several drops of blood and missing flesh later, I had done it! The dumb bulb was in!

Now to stand back and admire my handiwork. Also, prepare short speeches about Autism for the questions that were sure to flood in (insert eye roll here). I stood back, held the papertowel to my wounds to staunch the bleeding, and what did I see?

CRAP!

DANGIT! The glass was yellow, not the stupid old bulb that was in there. Now I was freaking lighting it up green? What does green even stand for?  There was blue light shining in a craptastic pattern above and below the light… That counts right? I kept telling myself it was blue enough (totally wasn’t blue btw), and as long as the questions got asked, it was worth it.

Guys? Not one person so much as looked twice. My house looked like a box of crayola crayons. The green and yellow and blue, oh, don’t forget the red from my blood.

UGH. The kicker? It’s not bright enough to see the door, and since hubby works nights? I need to switch the dumb thing back to the regular bulb.

Thanks, Autism. You win. AGAIN.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizbeth
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 12:41:12

    OMG, I had to laugh, that totally sounds like something I would do! And why take the wreath down now, isn’t Christmas in like 7 months anyway?!?

    Reply

  2. jillsmo
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 12:08:15

    LMAO!! That sounds like something I would do. I wouldn’t be able to draw it as well, though

    Reply

    • sockmommy
      Apr 11, 2011 @ 13:20:12

      I like the premade shapes :) They’re helpful. I can’t draw my way out of a paper bag. I’m the only Mom on the block who gets eye rolls and disgusted sighs from 3 yr olds when they ask me to draw elmo. Cretins.

      Reply

  3. Lynn
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:59:11

    My awareness-raising stops at my having to get out a toolbox. My porch lights are also damn near impossible to change and there was no way I was going through that. I think green is for Irritable Bowel Syndrome Awareness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

